Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth and Why I Agree With The Ending

So this going to be less of a book review and more me defending the ending of Divergent. I put a review on goodreads.com if you feel the need to check it out but honestly I always feel a little odd reviewing books since I don’t want to give too much of the story away.

SO for the purposes of this review **SPOILER ALERT** I am going to let all the secrets out. This is more for people who read the book and felt that the ending was too sad.

In the end of Divergent, lots of people die and it is really sad. However, this is a dystopian novel. Set in a world where Faction rules and family is far less important. Or at least that is what they want you to think. Tris, the MC chooses to leave her birth Faction, Abnegation, for the more exciting Dauntless. Once in the Dauntless compound she is essentially trained to kill and defend herself. She is a Divergent and we Suspect that her BF Four is as well. Divergent people are somehow immune to the serum used during Dauntless training in which you are put into a simulation of your greatest fears and forced to face the. A divergent person is aware they are in a simulation and can change it while normal people cannot. (I thought this was so freaking cool!)

At the end, it turns out another Faction, The Erudite aka the creators of the serum, have created a way control the Dauntless and are using them to take out Abnegation, AKA the Government. Now, we find out earlier in the book that Tris’ mother was Dauntless born and chose Abnegation. So naturally she kicks ass but ends up sacrificing herself for her daughter.

A lot of people might cry at this but as a parent it is not even a choice, you do what you have to do for your kids and I can respect her for that.

Next, Tris is face to face with her friend Will, from Dauntless training. He is fully under Erudite control and is pointing a gun at her. She shoots and kills him. I do kind of wish this could have gone down differently but The Erudite Drones, as I am going to call them, are not at all aware so you cannot just wound them and hope they stop because they won’t. They are essentially human computers and they don’t stop until their hearts stop. She was also already wounded and had lost a lot of blood. This was really the only reasonable choice she had. And while it sucks, she is haunted by it so you know she isn’t a complete monster.

Next she infiltrates the Dauntless compound where the main program is and her father ends up sacrificing his life for her. Again as a parent I get it. It does make for a really bad day for Tris though.

So now it is just her and her BF Tobias, who is under a special form of the simulation specifically for Divergents. At this point she cannot kill anyone else, understandably, and pleads with Tobias to recognize her. And in true lovey dovey fashion he does.

I loved this, I did not like that Peter and Marcus lived but I have a feeling they will get what’s coming to them in the near future, aka the next book Insurgent, which I will be reading soon. Or in the last one, I cannot remember the title.

I completely agree with Veronica in her ending. It was tragic but in all the right ways. I do still feel bad about Will but I believe that encounter will end up being a key part in her development as a character.

I hear over and over again, don’t be afraid to be mean to characters in your writing. Veronica Roth has mastered it and I think it made for a better story.

If you have not read the book, I am sorry because I just gave up the ending for you but hey I said spoiler alert, you should get a copy!

http://www.amazon.com/Divergent-Veronica-Roth/dp/0062024035/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1396047274&sr=8-2&keywords=Divergent

 

About MCFrosch

I am a wife and mother of two boys. My children are almost exactly two years apart in age and the oldest is four. I am a full-time student earning my Bachelors Degree in Marketing. I am working towards becoming a literary agent and have recently decided to help a friend as she endeavors to found a small indie publishing house. I also have two dogs and four cats. My husband and I also brew our own beer and hope to give wine and mead a try.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

