To All The Nay Sayers

I am so sick of all the bloggers and people who supposedly know everything about everything saying, “Don’t get excited….”

How can you get started in anything in life if you aren’t excited? How can you be successful? You need that drive, that excitement! That will to get you there.

You know what I think the problem is? They gave up too soon. They got one rejection or one thing didn’t go exactly as they had excepted and they quit. That to me, says they simply did not want it bad enough.

I am sure when I try to get an agent at the end of year, I say that with a lot of hope in my tone, I will get plenty of rejections. Plenty of people telling me it’s not good enough or just not what they are looking for. So I will revise my query, maybe send it to Query Shark for revision. I don’t know exactly what I will do. Maybe rewrite the beginning. The one thing I know I will not do however, is give up. I have been looking into epublishing just because it’s becoming bigger and bigger in the publishing world and I want to be an agent. I figure I need to know about both traditional and epublishing to have a decent go of it. As a result I am finding more and more reputable epublishers who I wouldn’t mind submitting to.

The point is, get excited! If disappointment finds you, as soon as you recover or even during your recovery, start planning your next move. Don’t sit there and stew over the fact that you failed. Look at why you failed and see what you can do differently next time. Formulate a new plan or two and try again! Try try AGAIN! If everyone who failed the first time gave up on their dreams, we would live in a very boring place. There would be very few musicians and fewer books. And even fewer movies. Most of my favorite movies and books come from people who have fought tooth and nail for their ideas. They were rejected time and time again. If they had given up, just think of the things we wouldn’t have! If Joss Whedon had given up after the first Buffy movie he wouldn’t have been around to make the Avengers. Yeah think about that one. I wish I had more examples that  everyone would understand but you get the point.

“Just keep swimming,” Dory-Finding Nemo

For those of you with a query that needs revising or if you just want to have it checked out before your initial send off (Not a bad idea) here’s the site 🙂

http://queryshark.blogspot.com/

 

About MCFrosch

I am a wife and mother of two boys. My children are almost exactly two years apart in age and the oldest is four. I am a full-time student earning my Bachelors Degree in Marketing. I am working towards becoming a literary agent and have recently decided to help a friend as she endeavors to found a small indie publishing house. I also have two dogs and four cats. My husband and I also brew our own beer and hope to give wine and mead a try.
This entry was posted in Dreaming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

