The eBook Thing

I am so torn about the eBook rout of publishing. Some people say it’s the way to go and is the future but I have a Kindle Fire HD and I have purchased exactly one eBook so far. I mostly use it for reading my friend’s manuscript in bed. Don’t get me wrong I love my Kindle but there is something about the feel of a book in your hands. Seeing how far you are in a bunch of pages rather than a percentage.

My biggest issue is the smell. Sense memory is a huge part of your overall memory. I still remember the smell of the book store where I grew up and the smell of the first book I loved. It actually smelled a little mildewy cause it was super old. I do like that you can barrow books from friends and libraries easily enough. Though I have yet to do it. I don’t like it when the book costs more in the eBook form. I feel like they are cheating me if an eBook is more than like five bucks. I realize they still need to make money but if I’m not paying for the process to take the book from the computer and turn it into an actual book  I don’t understand what I am paying that much for. I know it’s a process and everyone needs their piece of the pie but I don’t know.

I guess most of my reservation is there is a library in my dream house. Which I thoroughly intend to have some day. The library is like the one in Beauty and The Beast, the Disney version. So my real issue is probably a fear that eBooks will actually replace the good old paperback. Which I would not like. I prefer the feel of a book.

I like eBooks if you they are considerably less expensive than the paper back or hardcover and I don’t know the author. If I read an eBook and love it you can bet I will be making a trip to the book store or amazon to buy the actual book. Maybe I’m just old-fashioned but I like the actual book.

Now for some pros to the eBook. I love the fact that if the kids are in bed and I want to get a new book I can just hop on the Kindle and find something. I don’t have to wait for it to get here by mail or anything. Just find a comfortable position and you are off into another world. The free previews are pretty amazing and a good business tool. I read the beginning of a book and ended up paying for the rest of it even though it was more than I would normally be willing to spend on an eBook just because I couldn’t stop reading!

Honestly being able to buy a book without dragging the kids to the store is my number one reason for having a kindle. I don’t know about you but if I bring the kids to the book store I don’t just buy the book I went in there for. I buy a couple for myself and a couple for the kids. So for the sake of our budget eBooks are amazing.

As an aspiring author I do not want to go to go the self publishing route. If I have to I will definitely consider it but again, I want to hold that book with name on it. I want to be  able to go to signings. Even signings where only two people show up ha ha. I want the whole experience. Mostly I want that moment when my book arrives in the mail. I am not trying to bad mouth self publishers in any way. I am a big fan of, do what you have to, and if I have to, I will reevaluate my position on e-publishing. Honestly though I just hope I don’t have to worry about it. E-publishing would also put a kink in my being an agent. I am not able to go to school for english or anything. The best I can do is a certificate in english. Which I plan to do soon. If I publish my book it will help get a leg up in getting an internship. So basically all my dreams are intermingled.

Whatever happens when I am ready to try publishing I am glad that self publishing is an option. Hopefully I can write more about it in December or January. My goal is to be looking into it then 😉

About MCFrosch

I am a wife and mother of two boys. My children are almost exactly two years apart in age and the oldest is four. I am a full-time student earning my Bachelors Degree in Marketing. I am working towards becoming a literary agent and have recently decided to help a friend as she endeavors to found a small indie publishing house. I also have two dogs and four cats. My husband and I also brew our own beer and hope to give wine and mead a try.
Image | This entry was posted in Publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The eBook Thing

  1. I share your sentiments entirely! I love the physical book. I love smelling it, cracking it open, flipping the pages and putting it on the shelf. I don’t like reading off a screen. In fact, I’ve never bought an ebook before and given both choices, I’d go for the book. But like you mentioned, if I was intrigued by a story that was only available as an ebook, or which I wasn’t sure if I would like but was willing to try for a cheap price, I’d still go for it. As a wanna be published-writer, though, I would definitely go for the book. Even if I never got my book published, I’d order myself a print on demand copy, just to feel the weight of my creativity in my hands 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Auto Pligg says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

