Becoming a Literary Agent

So far I have applied for a couple internships and nothing has panned out. The pickings are pretty slim when you have to look for remote internships. I found one that was really promising and I thought I had a fighting chance until they asked me to come to their office for an interview. Their office was in San Francisco, I live near Concord New Hampshire and had a three-month old at the time. That didn’t happen.

So to help my chances I am doing a few things. One is making sure I can read a 70-100,000 word manuscripts in a timely manner. It sounds strange but I haven’t read a book since I got pregnant with my second son. I am actually enjoying myself immensely. I’m reading those Stephanie Plum novels. I am also about to start the Odd Thomas Novels by Dean Koontz. My sister is reading them and can’t stop talking about them so I thought I’d give them a try.

My next trial will be reading two novels at the same time. I am literally laughing out loud at that one. But it’s important for literary agents to be able to read a few manuscripts at once and keeping them straight. So I figure why not try before I have to do it for work?

The last thing I have planned is an English certificate program which I am planning to start once my friend Sara is really ready to query. I am helping her edit her manuscript right now. Sara Holmes look for her public page on Facebook.

So building my resume and reading everything I can get my hands on is pretty much the plan. Once I get an internship I will let you know exactly what got me there!

About MCFrosch

I am a wife and mother of two boys. My children are almost exactly two years apart in age and the oldest is four. I am a full-time student earning my Bachelors Degree in Marketing. I am working towards becoming a literary agent and have recently decided to help a friend as she endeavors to found a small indie publishing house. I also have two dogs and four cats. My husband and I also brew our own beer and hope to give wine and mead a try.
This entry was posted in Literary Agent and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

