Writers Block :/

Writers block is the worst thing that can happen to a writer. Especially one who has given herself due dates to help keep things moving.

My original plan was to write one chapter a month. That’s one rough draft of a chapter a month. And I like to go back and do light editing to help me get back into the groove of the story before continuing. And this seemed to work out great because I wrote my prologue and first two chapters in February of this year. So when most of March went by without much progress on Chapter Three I was not worried. I managed to finish the chapter just before April arrived. That is when tragedy struck. I knew my protagonist, Zeke, was going to have his first battle (and I mean all out fist to cuffs) with his father, at some point in Part one. Well as all you other authors out there know, sometimes your characters get uppity on you and do what they want instead of you had planned. Zeke decided he was going to start the battle earlier than I had anticipated. The result? Writers block on an epic scale! April came and went with no progress on Chapter Four. Now June is nearly upon us and having taken two entire months trying to sort out this mess I really don’t want to write Zeke for a while.

Fortunately I have two protags so while I wont be keeping up with my chapters I can continue working until I forgive Zeke enough to give Chapter Four a shot.

(I want to mention for those who do not know. I started writing this years ago! But since I was so young and my writing has evolved so much since I started I needed to start basically from scratch. So I have to story really worked through in my mind making it easier to hash out a prologue and two chapters in a month haha. I don’t actually write that fast, usually.)

About MCFrosch

I am a wife and mother of two boys. My children are almost exactly two years apart in age and the oldest is four. I am a full-time student earning my Bachelors Degree in Marketing. I am working towards becoming a literary agent and have recently decided to help a friend as she endeavors to found a small indie publishing house. I also have two dogs and four cats. My husband and I also brew our own beer and hope to give wine and mead a try.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

